Yet another blog

WWF RAW - September 11th, 1995

Originally posted to Cohost.

Unlike Nitro, RAW was already long established at this point. Obviously WCW itself was established and had ongoing plots etc. and it hasn't really been an issue, so I don't think it will matter here that I'm missing context either even though that context will be RAW-specific.

Even though I've watched a lot of WWF/E I don't think I've ever actually watched a full episode of RAW aside from the one that was taped in London in 2013, which I went to (the only time I've seen WWE live in person). The broadcasts in the UK were a little hard to come by. A weird UK-specific version of Heat was briefly shown on Channel 4 on Sunday afternoons but was moved to a late night/early Monday morning spot due to lack of popularity. I don't remember what time RAW was broadcast on Sky - I know it wasn't actually live, but I also know there were reasons I didn't watch it that I simply can't remember.

Anyway. RAW has always been something I've been aware of alongside SmackDown but like I say, I'm not sure I've ever actually watched a full episode. But I'm at least more familiar with the characters going into this than I am with WCW. I'm really interested to see how this matches up to the generally really good wrestling on Nitro at this point, and to see how both shows develop as the rivalry goes on.

As with my Nitro posts these are all going to be mainly notes I made as I'm watching the show, because I don't want this to start feeling like work when it's just a bit of fun.

We open with a recap from 1995's SummerSlam, showing us clips from Shawn Michaels vs. Razor Ramon in a ladder match that they bill as "one of the greatest matches in WWF history". I might have to watch it because Shawn Michaels is always great, and I love ladder matches.

The benefit of RAW's broadcast history is immediately obvious. This is the first episode of "The New Fall Season" and after this intro I feel pretty caught up on the plots I need to know about already. WCW, take notes.

Match 1: Razor Ramon vs. British Bulldog

This episode of RAW is the first one broadcast by Sky Sports in Europe, so it makes sense that the first match of the night features the British Bulldog.

I'd forgotten all about him until right now. He was a local hero when I was growing up - he's from Golborne originally, which is a few miles south of Wigan (where I'm from originally) and Wigan very much claims him as theirs. It was always great to see someone local wrestling on this sort of stage. (It's also hilarious how I could tell you he's from Wigan just by his build and the way he carries himself. That town breeds rugby players.)

My prediction is that Bulldog wins because Razor is a heel and they want to appeal to the European market with this first international broadcast, but we'll see.

This match is slower than anything we've seen in Nitro so far and in terms of the actual wrestling on display it's much less flashy. Less aerial work and flying, more slugging it out. It's not bad in any way though, just different. It's very physical and the hits are sold really well, everything has weight and impact. A much more British style of wrestling, really.

Side note, I hate live entertainment with breaks. I hate missing things.

I often don't enjoy interventions/ring invasions in matches but Dean Douglas coming in here is really fun, especially when he drops the 123 Kid (who also interferes) onto the top rope. This one ends with a win for Bulldog via Ramon being disqualified, a sort of ending I don't particularly enjoy, but the match as a whole was fun.

Interlude

Vince McMahon is in the ring talking to the 123 Kid and Razor Ramon and the commentators are talking over the top of it so that you can't hear anything. Very annoying. It would be a lot easier to follow what's happening if I could understand what's being said. (I also need to remind myself that at this point he's just Vince McMahon, play-by-play commentator, not Mr. McMahon, CEO and villain. I've grown up knowing him as a heel and it's weird to see him be personable and charming and popular with the fans here.)

That said, Vince's mic skills are terrible here and the 123 Kid is one of the least charismatic people I've ever had to listen to so maybe it's good that the commentary team are chattering over it.

Razor Ramon's voice might put me to sleep as well. I take it back, let me listen to the commentary team.

Match 2: Smoking Gunns vs. Rad Radford/Brooklyn Brawler (tag team match)

I've never heard of any of these people and the weird cowboy gimmick of the Smoking Gunns makes me assume I'm about to hear something horribly racist.

Look at these oily, muscled men with mullets, moustaches, and Levi's 501s and tell me wrestling isn't the most homoerotic thing ever broadcast. This is why we love it.

As with the first match the quality of the wrestling on display isn't quite as good as we've seen in Nitro. There's a bit more flying in this match but it's all a bit slower and feels a bit more cautious.

This might be the shortest tag match I've ever seen in my life and honestly, as someone who doesn't traditionally enjoy tag, I'm grateful for it.

Interlude

Goldust is coming to WWF. I'd forgotten about Goldust and I think I'd prefer to have kept it that way. This promo is weird and uncomfortable to watch.

Match 3: Isaac Yankem D.D.S. vs. Scott Taylor

This dentist gimmick is WEIRD.

One thing RAW does better than Nitro is showing clips from earlier episodes/events to give context for storylines. That's to be expected given the show had already been broadcasting for 2 years. I assume I'll start to see Nitro taking some production cues from RAW.

Another incredibly short match. Literally only a minute or two long and immediately forgettable.

Interlude: In Your House Promo

In Your House is two weeks away and there's going to be a triple header match for the first time in WWF. I've already got two PPVs coming up in WCW. I absolutely can't keep up with all this. This is so much wrestling.

This presenter is really uncharismatic. I think I'd be interested in what he's telling me about In Your House but I just don't want to listen to him. This is the first time where I've been tempted to skip a segment but I'm going to watch everything. One thing in WCW's favour is that even the weird messy interludes haven't made me tune out mentally like this has.

Match 4: Shawn Michaels vs. Sid (Intercontinental Title Match)

We've advertising a replica of Shawn Michaels' hat and glasses for $25 and the hat is GENUINE PLEATHER. For the love of god just give me the wrestling.

After the really dull promos and mic spots we've had this episode it's really nice to see the Heartbreak Kid talk for a few seconds. Love him or hate him, Michaels has charisma. And I hope we're about to see a jump in the quality of wrestling on display in this episode.

Michaels does his best to make this entertaining but Sid is just big and strong, there's no speed here and no opportunity for Michaels to shine. Sid at least sells things well when Michaels turns the tables to win but it's another nothing match.

The episode ends with Michaels on the mic setting some stuff up for In Your House and honestly it's the highlight of the episode.

#attitude #monday night wars #raw #wwe